Gathering Spaces, Travel

Gathering Spaces: Cozy Fall

While we’re still unpacking from our recent move in mid-October, I still planned ahead and made sure my Hallo-Fall decor was readily available to put out this year. Decorating a small space can be very challenging because if you’re not careful, a small space can look cluttered and kitschy.

I have never been one to fork over a lot of money for seasonal decor. I love the little things. I also love purchasing things for my home when I’m traveling on business or visiting friends. Here are a few examples of how I’ve incorporated inexpensive investments into a few key pieces of fall decor that last me from the first PSL to the first day of Christmas Crazy.

IMG_3783

Invest inĀ warm.

Cool fall nights mean getting cozy. These yellow, softer-than-soft blankets are perfect throws without splurging on cashmere. Plus, they’re Willie-approved.

Soft Throws | $19.99 | Marshall’s | Similar styles in store

IMG_3784

For other inspiration, check out my Pinterest board “GOODS”.

IMG_3790

Bring home seasonal flowers that tie in your accent colors for fall. I love these flowers I scooped for $7 at The Fresh Market in Carytown. Well-cared for bunches can last several weeks. See care guide from Design Mom.

Flower Bunches | $7 | The Fresh Market, or your local Farmer’s Market

Once you’ve identified a color theme you like, the rest is easy. Here’s a few gems I love from my own kitchen space. I always love small touches that remind me of friends.

IMG_3792

A special gift from our dear friends that makes tea time that much happier.

Sunny Kettle | Crate&Barrel |Ā Similar

IMG_3791

 

Pepper and Salt Cellars | $18 | Rae DunnĀ here, originally purchased on a Nashville trip atĀ LuluĀ in Franklin, TN

IMG_3794

 

One thing I always rely on is snagging decor when the holiday has come and gone. I scooped up the two wood pumpkins on a clearance Halloween sale while visiting family in Powell, Ohio. The small pumpkins are from …. (drumroll please) … Dollar Tree! Can you believe how cute these are for just $1? Finally, I couldn’t resist getting this owl on a trip to visit my BFF in South Carolina. Her TJ Maxx store had an awesome selection of owl things, and this was a great addition to my Hallo-Fall decor.

Wooden Pumpkins | $14 + $17 | Rue de Lily, Powell, OH

Ceramic Pumpkins | $1 each | Dollar Tree

Ceramic Owl | $12.99 | TJ Maxx

Do you decorate for fall?

What are some of your favorite treasures you’ve purchased from around the world?

880534958564413041113Ā Ā 968663271264313041113

Standard

Let's talk.

